KX Space (KX – from Cyrillic ‘Крылы Халопа’) is an independent cultural space in Brest. It was opened in 2014 by the collective of Kryly Khalopa theater. KX Space is created as a platform for education, presentation, research and communication in the field of theater, contemporary art, non-formal education. KX work is aimed to activate the cultural life in the region and Belarus, to support local initiatives. KX space is opened for the implementation of local community projects, aimed to form the active position of the involvement and influence on own lives and life of the community.

History

Kryly Khalopa theater (from 2001 till 2011 Free Theater) was created as a collective joined by political and creative views. As the tasks the theater considers the development of contemporary theatrical art in Belarus, embodied in the performative form of a critical view on society problems, work with important and “pain” topics for Belarusian society, the development of innovative theatrical practices.

The theater realized about 20 art activist actions and happenings. Created 11 performances (including 4 street productions), which are different in stylistic, visual language and working method. Theater performances have been presented at more than 40 international theater festivals in Poland, Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Denmark, France.

In 2006-2008 the theater participates in the projects of animation of culture in Warsaw (theater work with children and adolescents), from 2006 in Belarus (with disabled people in the psycho-neurological orphanages, in boarding schools).

From 2008 the theater constantly organizes the festivals (The Day of Podgorodskaya Street, 2008-2010; The Festival of Alternative culture CultA, 2011; Pryzba-fest, 2014), cinema club “Oxygen” (from 2003), free markets (from 2009), and other cultural and educational events.

From 2013 realizes the project “Histories of Belarus” (created performances “Chernobyl” and “Tales of Vialikaye Sialo”).

In 2013 Kryly Khalopa became the first internet-theater in Belarus.

In 2016 the theater organized the School of Collective Art, in which actor studios for adults and children work.

In November 2014 the theater opened KX Space, basing on the position that the theater should be an open place for the community, a space for meetings, discussion of important public issues and active participation.

In the first half of the year in the KX has been held more than 250 events (meetings with artists, lectures, exhibitions, workshops, film screenings, presentations, performances, etc.), which were visited by 7000 people.

Theater

The main activity of the Space is the work of the theater Kryly Khalopa: creation and presentation of the performances, the work of theater studios, educational events (lectures, meetings, film screenings), the realization of theatrical programs and projects, including one with children and disable people, the work of the theatrical library, exchange of experience with theorists and practitioners of Belarus and other countries. Activity of KX creates an active communication platform in Belarus in the field of contemporary performative practices, promotes inclusiveness of many different groups of people in their projects.

In 2016 in KX Space was opened the School of Collective Art, where the work of actor studios for adults and children was started. The main aim of the School is the development of the abilities of individual and collective creation, forming the critical view on the problems of the society and opportunities to embody this view in theatrical and artistic form.

Gallery

KX space works as a gallery, regarding the shortage of gallery spaces in Belarus. The main objectives in this direction of KX are the presence of Belarusian and foreign contemporary art in the public space of Brest, support the critical and contemporary art, as well as the projects aimed an inclusion of “excluded” artists for various reasons, creation of a platform for interdisciplinary dialogue, local and international cooperation, participation in Belarusian and international exhibition projects.

In 2016 in KX were held the exhibitions of Belarusian artists and photographers Andrey Liankievich, Alexander Veledimovich, Olga Sosnovskaya, Aleksey Tolstov, Semion Motolianets, Artur Bondar (Kiev-Moscow), Collective of Concrete Dates (Kiev), as well as the exhibition of Belarusian deviant contemporary art.

Non-formal education

An important activity of KX is non-formal education: the organization of lectures, discussions, meetings, workshops and courses. KX Space cooperates with professional expert community of Belarus, Eastern and Western Europe in the field of culture, art, art management, history, film, gender. The main conditions for the themes are relevance, work with the persistent negative society stereotypes, innovation, and focus on the definition of listeners’ attitude to important local and European affairs. Children’s audience is also in the focus of participation in the programs.

Cultural events

KX Space is the platform, which is open for various cultural events: film screenings, performances, readings, creative meetings. Arthouse-cinema club “Oxygen” is constantly working in KX.

Library

KX Space has a library, formed in the directions: theater, contemporary art, photography and others. The library fund is constantly updated with the latest editions from Belarus, Russia, Poland and other European countries.

Space

Hall (50 m2) with 70 seats, equipped with the theatrical light, projection, sound and gallery facilities, WI-FI + room for coffee breaks.

Пространство КХ (Крылы Халопа) –независимое культурное пространство в  Бресте. Открыто  в ноябре 2014г.  коллективом театра «Крылы халопа». Пространство КХ создано как площадка для образовательной, презентационной, исследовательской работы и коммуникации в области театра, современного искусства,  неформального образования. Работа КХ направлена на активизацию культурной жизни в регионе и Беларуси, активизацию местных инициатив. Пространство КХ открыто для реализации проектов местного сообщества в области искусства и образования, направлено на формирование активной позиции участия и влияния на свою жизнь и жизнь сообщества.

История

Театр “Крылы халопа”(с 2001 по 2011гг. Свободный театр) основан в 2001 году как коллектив, объединенный политическими и творческими взглядами. Целью было объединение искусства и активизма, создание общественно активного театра, говорящего оважных вопросах современности.

Театр начинал с художественных акций и хэппенингов на улицах (реализовано около 20 акций). Создал 11 спектаклей (в том числе 4 уличных), которые разнятся стилистикой, визуальным языком и методом работы. Своими задачами театр «Крылы халопа» считает развитие современного театрального искусства Беларуси, воплощение в театре критического взгляда на проблемы социума, работу с важными и «болевыми» темами для беларусского общества, развитие инновационных театральных практик. Спектакли театра были представлены на более 40 международных театральных фестивалях в Польше, России, Украине, Беларуси, Дании, Франции.

С 2006г. театр участвует в проектах анимации культуры в Варшаве (театральная работа с детьми и подростками, 2006-2008) и в Беларуси (с недееспособными людьми из психоневрологических интернатов, в детских домах).

С 2008г. театр регулярно организует фестивали (День улицы Подгородской, 2008-2010; Фестиваль альтернативной культуры КультА, 2011; Прызба-фэст:Тэатр. Экалогія. Сацыяльнае мастацтва, 2014), киноклуб “Кислород” (с 2003г.) фримаркеты (с 2009г.), и другие культурные и образовательные мероприятия.

В 2013г. театр «Крылы халопа» стал первым интернет-театром в Беларуси.

В 2016г. театр основал Школу Коллективного Искусства, в рамках которой работают актерские студии для взрослых и детей.

В ноябре 2014г. театр открыл Пространство КХ, исходя из позиции, что театр должен быть открытым местом для сообщества, пространством для встречи, обсуждения важных общественных вопросов, дискуссии и активного участия.

В первые полтора года в КХ прошло около 250 мероприятий (творческие встречи, лекции, выставки, мастер-классы, кинопоказы, презентации, спектакли и т.п.), которые посетило около 7000 человек.

Направления

Театр

Главным направлением деятельности Пространства является активность театра «Крылы халопа»: создание спектаклей, работа театральных студий, образовательные мероприятия в области современного театрального искусства (лекции, встречи, показы), реализация театральных программ и проектов, в том числе с детьми и недееспособными людьми, работа театральной библиотеки, обмен опытом с теоретиками и практиками из Беларуси и других стран. Деятельность КХ создает активную коммуникационную и исследовательскую площадку в Беларуси в области современных перформативных практик, способствует включенности самых разных групп людей в свои проекты.

В 2016г. в Пространстве КХ открыта Школа Коллективного Искусства, в рамках которой начали работу актерские студии для взрослых и детей. Главной задачей Школы является развитие у участников способностей индивидуального и коллективного творчества, формирование критического взгляда на проблемы социума и возможностей воплотить этот взгляд в театральной и художественной форме.

Галерея

Пространство КХ работает как галерея, учитывая дефицит галерейных пространств в Беларуси. Главными целями в этом направлении КХ ставит присутствие беларусского и зарубежного современного искусства в публичном пространстве Бреста, поддержку критического и актуального искусства, а также проектов, направленных на инклюзию «исключенных» по разным причинам художников, создание площадки для междисциплинарного диалога, локального и международного сотрудничества, участие в беларусских и международных выставочных проектах.

В 2016г. в КХ прошли выставки беларусских художников и фотографов Андрея Ленкевича, Александра Веледимовича, Ольги Сосновской, Алексея Толстова, Семена Мотолянца, Артура Бондаря (Киев-Москва) Коллектива Конкретных Дат (Киев), а также выставка Беларусского девиантного современного искусства.

Неформальное образование

Приоритетным направлением деятельности КХ является неформальное образование: организация лекций, дискуссий, встреч, мастер-классов, кинопоказов. Пространство КХ сотрудничает с профессиональным экспертным сообществом Беларуси, Восточной и Западной Европы в области культуры, искусства, арт-менеджмента, истории, кино, гендерной проблематики. Главными условиями для выбора тем мероприятий является актуальность, востребованность, работа со стойкими негативными стереотипами общества, инновационность, направленность на определение слушателями своей жизненной позиции отношения к важным локальным и европейским вопросам. Детская аудитория также находится в фокусе участия в программах.

Библиотека

В Пространстве КХ работает библиотека, сформированная по направлениям театр, современное искусство, урбанистика, гендер и др. Фонд библиотеки постоянно пополняется новейшими изданиями Беларуси, России, Польши, других стран Европы.

Пространство

Зал (50 кв м) на 70 мест, оснащен театральным освещением, проекционным, звуковым и галерейным оборудованием, WI-FI + комната для кофе-пауз.